Fotoreise Costa Rica

Costa Rica – A paradise for nature lovers and photographers. About 900 bird species, 250 reptile and amphibian species, 200 mammal species, forests, active volcanoes, and friendly people are waiting to be photographed in their best light. A photo tour through Costa Rica will be a pure natural experience with endless designs.

Professional photographer Florian Kuster was born in 1982 in Switzerland. The love for photography has accompanied him since his early childhood. During his extensive travels, including a pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela and a one-year trip to South America, he acquired his skills.

Florian acquired theoretical knowledge at the prestigious Photography Institute in Zurich. Together with his Guatemalan wife and two children, he has lived and worked in Costa Rica since 2013. He has come to specialize in wildlife photography, especially birds. During the photo tour through Costa Rica, participants will learn tips and tricks to use in practice, well as theoretical knowledge in seminar blocks, and image-processing understanding.

This German guided photo tour is conducted with a maximum of 8 people. It takes 11 days and can be extended either to the Pacific or the Caribbean coast for 2 weeks. It is aimed at ambitious nature photographers with prior knowledge and proper equipment. The main focus is on bird photography, but it also includes photographing other animals, flowers, landscapes, and people. We will visit five regions of the country, known for their variety of birds.

San Gerardo de Dota, located at an altitude of about 2,200 meters above sea level and nestled in a valley in the mountains of the Talamanca mountain range, is surrounded by beautiful cloud forest with ancient oak trees. This is the home of the quetzal, often called the king bird of the Mayas. However, numerous hummingbird species can be photographed here as well. This little stunt pilot is only found on the American continent, and it requires some tricks to get a sharp picture of it. Florian will reveal the secret behind it.

Turrialba, at an altitude of around 700 meters above sea level is a small town in the center of the country, is located at the foot of the volcano with the same name. An enormous variety of birds attract observers and photographers from all over the world. The interesting Research Centre for Tropical Agriculture (CATIE) with a beautiful botanical garden can also be found here, and the Angostura reservoir attracts water birds. On mountain rivers, you will also find Sunbitterns. A photo of this rare bird with outstretched wings is almost a trophy.

Sarapiqui is located 100 meters above sea level on the edge of the largest contiguous forest reserve in the country, the Braulio Carillo National Park and La Selva, a biological station. Thanks to the sanctuary found here, nature lovers will encounter a huge variety of birds, reptiles, amphibians, and mammals. The humid and hot climate of the rainforest will accompany photographers here, but they will definitely be rewarded for their efforts.

Caño Negro is a wildlife refuge in the northern lowlands and consists of lakes and marshes formed by flooding. In the dry season, the lakes shrink to small lagoons, canals, and sand strips, which are inhabited by numerous birds, cattle egrets, storks, roseate spoonbills, and kingfishers. In addition, tortoises, alligators, and many species of fish, including the endangered billfish, find shelter in the reserve. Here, we will get on site on boats, for the best motives.

Country & people are of course also in the center of our interest. The open and friendly Ticos —as the Costa Ricans call themselves— live a happy and peaceful life. This can be felt with every step, and it often leads to spontaneous and authentic encounters.

Day by day, here is the entire itinerary:

Day 1: Arrival

Arrival at the international airport of San José and transfer to the hotel in a suburb of San José, with beautiful tropical gardens. Depending on your arrival time, you can test your equipment here.

Overnight: standard class Hotel Bougainvillea *** (*), standard rooms, garden view

Included today: Meals not included

Day 2: San José – San Gerardo de Dota

Early birds will have the opportunity to photograph some colorful birds here or let them be put in the mood by the beautiful plants. After breakfast, your tour guide and professional photographer Florian Kuster will arrive at the hotel. After a short introduction, we will discuss the course of the journey. Then, we will go to our photo adventure and drive three hours to our first destination, San Gerardo de Dota, which is about 2,200 meters above sea level. Despite the tropical location of Costa Rica, it can be pretty chilly up here, but it is an ideal climate for the quirky hummingbirds that you will meet in the afternoon. Perhaps, there even is enough time today for a first image of a quetzal. Dinner, socializing, and overnight stay will wait for you at the lodge.

Overnight: standard class Hotel Savegre ***, standard rooms

Included today: breakfast, lunch, dinner

Day 3: San Gerardo de Dota

Before breakfast, we will get on our way looking for the king bird of the Mayas. Only the chief of the tribe was allowed to wear the long tail feathers of this bird as jewelry. After breakfast, you and Florian will explore the set-up photography with a focus on colorful birds and woodpeckers. In the afternoon, we will have the opportunity to deepen our first experiences with hummingbirds. With 40-50 wing beats per second, and flight speeds of up to 100 kilometers an hour, we can speak of luck when this nimble flyer holds still, at least for short time of floating. It requires certain techniques and tricks to capture these moments and Florian will share his secrets.

These exercises are always held personally, and while two photographers work on their setup, the other participants can explore flora and fauna on countless forest trails. This day, it will be about image editing with Lightroom and how to get the most out of photos. Florian has in-depth knowledge of Adobe Lightroom 5 and will guide you step by step. Of course, we will project the first day results of the participants on a canvas and will comment on these results.

Overnight: standard class Hotel Savegre ***, standard room

Included today: breakfast, lunch, dinner

Day 4: San Gerardo de Dota – Turrialba

After breakfast, we will leave this sleepy area and drive around 2 hours to Turrialba, at the foot of the volcano with the same name. If we are lucky with the weather, from a safe distance we can spot the gas cloud that evaporates from the crater. It is warmer and the climate is ideal for the famous Costa Rican highlands coffee that grows beautifully here. Sugar cane and macadamia nuts are also raised in this place. Here, we will be housed in a hotel with beautiful gardens, and you can start capturing flora and fauna after arrival. The nimble butterflies in the garden are great practice objects and will help photographers become one with their cameras.

In the afternoon, a visit to the botanical garden of the tropical agricultural institute CATIE is on the program. This Agricultural University was founded in 1973 and is a major world research center for tropical agriculture. 1000 hectares house collections of plants, nurseries, and research areas for cocoa, macadamia, coffee, mango, avocado, citrus, ornamental, and medicinal plants. Of course, these plantations also attract numerous birds and other animals, and we will indulge in our passion for photography again.

Back at the hotel, you can try the fine cuisine of the hotel. Dinner will not be included this day, and you can choose it according to the menu and depending on your mood. Then, Florian will start the second seminar block, which will deal with design possibilities, backgrounds, pixels, colors, cropping, and proportions. The motto is: going a step further and analyzing before taking pictures.

Overnight at first-class hotel, Casa Turire ****, standard rooms

Included today: breakfast, lunch

Day 5: Turrialba

The theory of the previous evening will have to be put into practice. Near the hotel, you will take your bird photos with Florian’s support and advice. We will enjoy lunch at the hotel before going to a mountain river in the rainforest. Hopefully, we will find the rare Sunbittern. For photographers, they are mainly interesting because of the great ornament on their wings, which resemble eyes. However, it is a challenge to catch the bird with its wings outstretched. Back at the hotel, you will have a free time to either select your recent photos or to end the day with a drink in the Jacuzzi.

Overnight at first-class hotel, Casa Turire ****, standard rooms

Included today: breakfast, lunch

Day 6: Turrialba – Sarapiquí

After breakfast, we will cross the last mountain ranges and reach the northern lowlands of Costa Rica by Siquirres. The goal for the day will be Sarapiqui, which is located on the edge of a huge forest reserve, close to the Biological Station La Selva. Our Lodge will be located next to the Sarapiqui River, which forms a border between civilization and the rainforest. The tropical gardens will invite for photo sessions, and the nature-loving staff will be very helpful in the search for motifs. After lunch, you can visit the observation pavilion and take exciting nature photos under the guidance of Florian.

After having dinner at the lodge, the third seminar block will be ready. The task will be to deepen the contents of the previous seminars and learn how to keep track of hundreds of images.

Overnight: standard class, Selva Verde Lodge ***, river, rooms

Included today: breakfast, lunch, dinner

Day 7: Sarapiquí

On a boat trip on the Rio Sarapiquí we focus our attention today on crocodiles, caimans, iguanas, monkeys and sloths. There is no lack of bird life, and today we focus on water birds. While the boat operator with his trained eye has the task to find the often well-camouflaged animals, you will be busy with the challenge of photography from a boat. This is not always easy, but with the help of the tips and tricks from Florian you will certainly master it.

The afternoon there will be even more exciting and adventurous. It’s about set-up photography of frogs and snakes that we are tracking with the help of the Lodge staff. The evening is at leisure and you can process the impressions either in the lodge or in the village of Sarapiqui.

Overnight: standard class, Selva Verde Lodge ***, river, rooms

Today: breakfast, lunch

Day 8: Sarapiquí – Caño Negro

Today we will continue to one of the world’s most important wetlands, the Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge. During the rainy season, the area is flooded, forming a large lake, but in the dry season, smaller lagoons, canals and sand strips are formed, with many different species. Numerous water birds can be found here, like the endangered Jabiru, as well as reptiles and turtles that can be observed and photographed. After having lunch in the village, we will drive to our hotel, where you can spend the afternoon building your sets in the garden and transferring what you have learned into your own ideas.

After having dinner, you will attend the fourth block of seminars with the following topics: output formats for different uses, backup, posting on platforms, selling to libraries, rights, and contests.

Overnight: standard class, Hotel de Campo Caño Negro ***, standard rooms

Included today: breakfast, lunch

Day 9: Caño Negro

In the morning, we will take a ride into the Caño Negro Reserve, on boats specially designed for photographers. Thanks to swivel chairs, you can turn around, which will simplify photography. The extraordinary biodiversity is impressive. Among the native species of birds in the winter months you will find migratory birds from the north mingling, as well as three species of monkeys, sloths, iguanas, crocodiles, caimans, and turtles that will be our subjects that morning.

After having lunch, we will try to shoot the best photos in the butterfly garden. Whether Brimstone or Blue Morpho, when it comes to shapes and colors, the lightweight insects of Costa Rica are hard to beat.

The evening will be at your leisure to sort out the photos. Slowly, the tour will come to an end and it will be time to opt for your favorite picture and hand it to Florian, who will decide in the photo contest.

Overnight: standard class, Hotel de Campo Caño Negro ***, standard rooms

Today: breakfast, lunch

Day 10: Caño Negro – San José

On a new boat, you will have the last chance to shoot your “mega image” for the competition. Then, we will drive back to San José and cross the Central Volcanic Mountain Range.

The dinner at the hotel will follow the fifth and final seminar block about rating and commenting on the entire contestant submitted photos for the contest. Again, there will be a lot to learn. The award ceremony will be at the end, and then, unfortunately, it will be time to say goodbye. An eventful and informative photographic journey will have come to an end.

Overnight: standard class, Hotel Bougainvillea *** (*), standard rooms, garden, view

Included today: breakfast, lunch on the way, farewell, dinner

Day 11: Transfer to the airport or extension program

We will pick you up at your hotel and take you to the international airport for your return flight. We recommend an extension program and will advise you in making the right choice.

Included today: breakfast

 

Minimum number of participants: 4 people

Maximum number of participants: 8 people

 

Included Not included
  • Transfers and transportation in air-conditioned buses with Spanish-speaking drivers.
  • Accommodation in the mentioned hotels in rooms with shower / WC
  • Meals as per description including 1 non-alcoholic drink, typical of the country, usually a fruit juice
  • Support by German-speaking professional photographer and tour guide Florian Kuster, days 2-10
  • German-speaking tour guide upon arrival at the airport
  • Informative travel documentation
    • Flight
    • Voluntary gratuities
    • Airport departure tax when leaving, USD 29 per person
    • Optional activities
    • Personal expenses
    • Personal travel insurance (illness, accident)
    • Insurance on photographic equipment

Änderungen im Programmablauf bleiben vorbehalten

 

Dates on request

 

Equipment and Tips:

Everyone should have the following:

-Digital SLR Camera

-Replacement battery plus charger

-Ample supply of memory cards, better two smaller ones, than a very large memory card

-Telephoto lenses starting at 300 millimeters, and zoom lenses are convenient for several purposes

-Teleconverters are very helpful.

-Stable tripod, which can easily support camera + telephoto lens

-A clip-on or pop-up flash

Optionally, increasing the fun factor (but also your baggage):

-Macro lens

-Wide angle lens

-Laptop

-Remote control

-Filter (Polaroid / grey filter)

To help Florian Kuster prepare, participants are asked to report before the travel: brand, model of camera, and telephoto lens. If additional lenses are to be carried, please indicate this. On a voluntary basis, the serial number of both units can be transmitted to avoid confusion.

The following disciplines will be completed:

-Classic set-ups at the bird feeder (feeding station)

-Discovery journey on jungle paths, hotel gardens, and waterways

-Set-Ups for Reptiles

-Humming birds in flight and sitting still

-Macros of plants and animals

-Country and people, still life

For further information and booking: sales@aratours.com, www.aratours.com

Phone +506 2232 04 00

Fotoreise Costa Rica

Costa Rica – Das Paradies für Naturliebhaber und Fotografen. Über 900 Vogelarten, 250 Reptilien- und Amphibienarten, 200 Säugetierarten, Urwälder, aktive Vulkane und die gastfreundliche Bevölkerung warten darauf, im besten Licht festgehalten zu werden. Eine Fotoreise durch Costa Rica ist ein pures Naturerlebnis mit unendlichen Motiven.

Der Profifotograf Florian Kuster ist 1982 in der Schweiz geboren. Die Liebe zur Fotografie begleitet Ihn seit Kindesbeinen. Die Praxis erwarb er sich auf ausgedehnten Reisen, darunter eine Pilgerreise nach Santiago de Compostela und eine einjährige Südamerikareise.

Die theoretischen Kenntnisse erwarb sich Florian im renommierten Fotografieinstitut in Zürich. Gemeinsam mit seiner guatemaltekischen Frau und seinen beiden Kindern, lebt und arbeitet er seit 2013 in Costa Rica und hat sich hier auf die Tierfotografie mit Fokus auf Vögel spezialisiert. Während der Fotoreise durch Costa Rica lernen die Teilnehmer, Tipps und Tricks in der Praxis kennen und in Seminarblöcken werden theoretische Kenntnisse und Bildbearbeitung vertieft.

Diese deutsch geführte Fotoreise wird mit maximal 8 Personen durchgeführt, dauert 11 Tage und kann gut entweder an der Pazifik- oder der Karibikküste auf 2 Wochen verlängert werden. Sie richtet sich an ambitionierte Naturfotografen mit Vorkenntnissen und entsprechender Ausrüstung. Der Hauptfokus liegt auf der Vogelfotografie, aber auch das Fotografieren andere Tierarten, Blumen, Landschaften und Menschen kommt zum Zuge. Wir besuchen 5 Regionen des Landes, die für ihre Vogelvielfalt bekannt sind.

San Gerardo de Dota liegt auf rund 2‘200m eingebettet in einem Tal in den Bergen der Cordillera de Talamanca und ist umgeben von herrlichen Nebelwäldern mit uraltem Eichenbaumbestand. Das ist die Heimat des Quetzals, oft auch Königsvogel der Mayas genannt. Aber auch zahlreiche Kolibriarten können hier fotografiert werden. Diese kleinen Kunstflieger gibt es nur im Amerikanischen Kontinent und es bedarf einiger Tricks um diese gestochen scharf abzulichten. Florian verrät Ihnen das Geheminis

Turrialba auf rund 700m ist ein kleines Städtchen im Zentrum des Landes, am Fusse des geleichnamigen Vulkanes gelegen. Eine enorme Vielfalt an Vögeln zieht Beobachter und Fotografen aus aller Welt an. Das interessante Forschungszentrum für tropische Landwirtschaft (CATIE) mit einem schönen botanischen Garten liegt ebenfalls hier und der Angostura Stausee zieht Wasservögel an. An Bergflüssen ist auch die Sonnenralle beheimatet und ein Foto dieses seltenen Vogels mit ausgebreiteten Flügeln ist fast schon eine Trophäe.

Sarapiquí liegt rund 100m über Meer am Rande des grössten zusammenhängenden Waldschutzgebietes des Landes, dem Braulio Carillo Nationalpark und der bioloigschen Station La Selva. Dank dem Schutzgebiet stösst der Naturliebhaber hier auf eine riesige Artenvielfalt an Vögeln, Reptilien, Amphibien und Säugetieren. Das schwül-heisse Klima des Regenwaldes begleitet den Fotografen hier, aber er wird ganz bestimmt für die Strapazen belohnt.

Caño Negro ist ein Wildschutzgebiet in der nördlichen Tiefebene und besteht aus Seen und Marschland, geformt durch Überflutungen. In der Trockensaison verkleinern sich die Seen auf kleine Lagunen, Kanäle und Sandstreifen, welche von zahlreichen Vögeln, Kuhreihern, Waldstörchen, Rosalöfflern und Eisvögeln bewohnt werden. Auch Landschildkröten, Kaimane und viele Fischarten, darunter auch der vom Aussterben bedrohte Knochenhecht finden Schutz im Reservat. Hier bewegen wir uns mit Booten um die besten Motive zu erspähen.

Land & Leute stehen selbstverständlich auch im Zentrum unseres Interessens. Die offenen und freundlichen Ticos – so nennen sich die Costaricaner selbst – leben ein glückliches und friedliches Leben. Das spürt man denn auch auf Schritt und Tritt und es kommt oft zu spontanen und authentischen Begegnungen.

Tag für Tag, hier das gesamte Reiseprogramm:

1. Tag:       Ankunft

Ankunft am internationalen Flughafen von San José und Transfer zum Hotel in einem Vorort San Josés mit herrlicher tropischer Gartenanlage. Je nach Ankunftszeit können Sie hier schon mal Ihr Equipment testen.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel Bougainvillea***(*), Standard Zimmer                     Garden View

Heute inbegriffen:          Keine Mahlzeit inbegriffen

2. Tag:       San José – San Gerardo de Dota

Frühaufsteher haben bereits hier die Gelegenheit, einige farbenprächtige Vögel zu fotografieren oder sich von der herrlichen Pflanzenwelt in Stimmung bringen zu lassen. Nach dem Frühstück trifft Ihr Reiseleiter und Profifotograf Florian Kuster im Hotel ein. Nach einem kurzen Kennenlernen besprechen wir gemeinsam den Ablauf der Reise. Dann brechen wir auf zu unserem Fotoabenteuer und fahren rund 3 Stunden zu unserem ersten Etappenziel, San Gerardo de Dota auf rund 2‘200m über Meer. Trotz der tropischen Lage Costa Ricas kann es hier oben ganz schön frisch werden, ein ideales Klima für die quirrligen Kolibries, mit welchen Sie heute Nachmittag den ersten Kontakt haben werden. Vielleicht reicht es heute auch schon für ein erstes Bild eines Quetzals. Abendessen, gemütliches Beisammensein und Übernachtung in der Lodge

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel Savegre***, Standard Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen, Abendessen

3. Tag:       San Gerardo de Dota

Noch vor dem Frühstück machen wir uns auf die Suche nach dem Königsvogel der Mayas. Nur der Häuptling des Stammes durfte nämlich die langen Schwanzfedern dieser Trogonart als Schmuck tragen. Nach dem Frühstück widmen Sie sich zusammen mit Florian der Set-up Fotografie mit Fokus auf farbenfrohe Vögel und Spechte. Am Nachmittag haben wir nochmals die Gelegenheit, unsere ersten Erfahrungen mit Kolibris zu vertiefen. Mit 40-50 Flügelschlägen pro Sekunde und Fluggeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 100 km/h können wir von Fotografenglück sprechen, dass sich diese flinken Flieger zumindest für die Ernährung für kurze Bruchteile schwebend still halten. Es bedarf bestimmter Techniken und Tricks, um diese Momente festzuhalten und Florian wird Ihnen heute seine Geheimnisse verraten.

Diese Übungen finden jeweils persönlich statt und während zwei Fotografen an ihrem Set arbeiten, können die anderen Teilnehmer auf eigene Faust Flora und Fauna auf unzähligen Waldwegen erkunden.

Nach dem Abendessen steht der erste Seminarblock an. Heute geht es um die Bildbearbeitung mit Lightroom und wie man das Maximum aus seinen Fotos herausholt. Florian verfügt über fundierte Kenntnisse von Adobe Lightroom 5 und wird Sie Schritt für Schritt anleiten. Natürlich projezieren wir auch schon die ersten Tagesergebnisse der Teilnehmer an die Leinwand und kommentieren das Resultat.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel Savegre***, Standard Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen, Abendessen

4. Tag:       San Gerardo de Dota – Turrialba

Nach dem Frühstück verlassen wir die verträumte Gegend und fahren rund 2 Stunden nach Turrialba am Fusse des gleichnamigen Vulkanes. Mit etwas Wetterglück erspähen wir aus sicherer Distanz die Gaswolke, welche aus dem Krater dampft. Es wird nun wärmer und das Klima ist ideal für den berühmten costaricanischen Hochlandkaffee, der hier prächtig gedeiht. Auch Zuckerrohr und Macadamia Nüsse werden angebaut. Auch hier sind wir wieder in einem Hotel mit herrlicher Gartenanlage untergebracht und Sie können nach Ankunft rund um das Hotel schon mal Flora und Fauna festhalten. Die flinken Schmetterlinge Im Garten sind hervorragende Übungsobjekte und helfen uns dabei, Kamera und Fotograf zu einer Einheit zu verschmelzen.

Am Nachmittag steht dann der Besuch des botanischen Gartens des tropischen Landwirtschaftsinstitutes CATIE auf dem Programm. Diese Agraruniversität wurde 1973 gegründet und ist weltweit ein bedeutendes Forschungszentrum für tropische Landwirtschaft. Auf 1000 Hektar Fläche befinden sich Pflanzensammlungen, Baumschulen und Forschungsflächen für Kakao, Makadamia, Kaffee, Mango, Avocado, Zitrusfrüchte, Zier- und Heilpflanzen. Natürlich ziehen diese Plantagen auch zahlreiche Vögel und andere Tiere an und wir fröhnen hier erneut unserer Passion der Fotografie.

Zurück im Hotel können Sie die gute Küche des Hotels ausprobieren. Das Abendessen ist heute nicht inbegriffen und Sie können vom a la carte Menü je nach Lust und Laune wählen. Danach gibt Florian den zweiten Seminarblock. Es geht um Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten, Hintergründe, Bildelemente, Farben, Proportionen, Zuschnitt. Das Motto ist: Einen Schritt weitergehen und analysieren vor dem Knipsen.

Übernachtung:     First Class Hotel, Casa Turire****, Standard Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen

5. Tag:       Turrialba

Die Theorie vom Vorabend muss nun in die Praxis umgesetzt werden. In der Umgebung des Hotels gestalten Sie aktiv Ihre Vogelaufnahmen mit Unterstützung und Tipps von Florian. Das Mittagessen geniessen wir im Hotel, bevor wir anschliessend zu einem Bergfluss im Regenwald fahren. Mit etwas Glück finden wir hier die seltenen Sonnenrallen. Für Fotografen sind sie vor allem wegen der spannenden Verzierung ihrer Flügel interessant, die an Augen erinnern. Es ist jedoch eine Herausforderung, den Vogel mit ausgebreiteten Flügeln zu erwischen. Zurück im Hotel haben Sie freie Zeit um entweder Ihre bisherigen Fotos zu selektieren, oder im Jacuzzi den Tag bei einem Drink ausklingen zu lassen.

Übernachtung:     First Class Hotel, Casa Turire****, Standard Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen

6. Tag:       Turrialba – Sarapiquí

Nach dem Frühstück überqueren wir die letzten Bergzüge und erreichen bei Siquirres die nördliche Tiefebene Costa Ricas. Das Tagesziel heisst Sarapiquí und liegt am Rande eines riesigen Waldschutzgebietes und der biologischen Station La Selva. Unsere Lodge liegt direkt am Sarapiquí Fluss, der die Grenze zwischen Zivilisation und Regenwald bildet. Tropische Gärten laden für Fotosessions ein und die naturverbundenen Mitarbeiter sind sehr hilfsbereit bei der Suche nach Motiven. Nach dem Mittagessen besuchen Sie den Observations-Pavillon und machen unter Anleitung von Florian spannende Naturfotos.

Nach dem Abendessen in der Lodge steht der dritte Seminarblock an. Es geht nun darum, die Inhalte aus den vorangeganenen Seminarien zu vertiefen und wie man bei hunderten von Bildern den Überblick bewahrt.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Selva Verde Lodge***, River Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen, Abendessen

7. Tag:       Sarapiquí

Auf einer Bootsfahrt auf dem Rio Sarapiquí richten wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit heute auf Krokodile, Kaimane, Leguane, Affen und Faultiere. Auch die Vogelwelt kommt nicht zu kurz, heute mit Fokus auf Wasservögel. Während der Bootsführer die Aufgabe hat, mit seinem geschulten Blick die oft gut getarnten Tiere zu finden, werden Sie mit der Herausforderung der Fotografie aus einem Boot hinaus beschäftigt sein. Das ist nicht immer einfach, aber mit Hilfe der Tipps und Tricks von Florian sicherlich zu meistern.

Am Nachmittag wird es dann noch spannender und abenteuerlicher. Es geht um Set-up Fotografie von Fröschen und Schlangen, die wir mit Hilfe des Lodgepersonals aufspüren werden. Der Abend ist zur freien Verfügung und Sie können die Eindrücke entweder in der Lodge oder im Dorf Sarapiquí verarbeiten.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Selva Verde Lodge***, River Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen

8. Tag:       Sarapiquí – Caño Negro

Heute geht es weiter zu einem der weltweit wichtigsten Feuchtgebiete, dem Caño Negro Wildreservat. Während der Regenzeit wird die Gegend überflutet und bildet einen grossen See. In der Trockenzeit bilden sich kleinere Lagunen, Kanäle und Sandstreifen, wo es von verschiedenen Tierarten nur so wimmelt. Zahlreiche Wasservögel wie z. B. der vom Aussterben bedrohte Jabiru, sowie Reptilien und Schildkröten können beobachtet und fotografiert werden. Nach dem Mittagessen im Dorf fahren wir zu unserem Hotel, wo Sie Nachmittags Zeit haben Ihre Sets im Garten aufzubauen und das Gelernte in Ihre eigenen Ideen umzusetzen.

Nach dem Abendessen geht es im vierten Seminarblock um folgende Themen: Ausgabeformate für verschiedene Verwendungszwecke, Backup, Veröffentlichung auf Plattformen, Verkauf an Bibliotheken, Nutzungsrechte und Wettbewerbe

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel de Campo Caño Negro***, Standard                        Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen

9. Tag:       Caño Negro

Vormittags unternehmen wir eine Fahrt mit speziell für Fotografen ausgerichteten Booten ins Caño Negro Reservat. Dank Drehstühlen können Sie sich den Motiven flexibel zuwenden, was die Fotografie aus dem Boot hinaus vereinfacht. Die aussergewöhnliche Biodiversität ist eindrücklich. Unter die heimischen Vogelarten mischen sich in den Wintermonaten auch Zugvögel aus dem Norden. Aber auch 3 Affenarten, Faultiere, Leguane, Krokodile, Kaimane und Schildkröten gehörten heute Vormittag zu unseren Motiven.

Nach dem Mittagessen versuchen wir im Schmetterlingsgarten die besten Fotos zu schiessen. Egal ob Zitronenfalter oder Blue Morpho: An Farben und Formen sind die federleichten Insekten Costa Ricas kaum zu überbieten.

Der Abend ist wiederum zur freien Verfügung, um die Bilder auszusortieren. Langsam geht die Reise zu Ende und es wird Zeit dass Sie sich für Ihr Favoritenbild entscheiden und es Florian reichen um am Fotowettbewerb teilzunehmen.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel de Campo Caño Negro***, Standard                        Zimmer

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen

10. Tag:     Caño Negro – San José

Auf einer erneuten Bootsfahrt haben Sie die letzte Möglichkeit, Ihr „Hammerbild“ für den Wettbewerb zu schiessen. Danach treten wir die Rückfahrt nach San José an und überqueren die Cordillera Volcanica Central.

Dem gemeinsamen Abendessen im Hotel folgt der fünfte und letzte Seminarblock. Die Teilnehmer bewerten und kommentieren alle eingereichten Fotos für den Wettbewerb. Auch hier gibt es nochmals viel zu lernen. Der Schlusspunkt macht die Siegerehrung und dann heisst es leider Abschied nehmen. Eine ereignis- und lehrreiche Fotoreise neigt sich dem Ende entgegen.

Übernachtung:     Comfort Class, Hotel Bougainvillea***(*), Standard Zimmer                     Garden View

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück, Mittagessen auf dem Weg, Abschiedsessen

11. Tag:     Transfer zum Flughafen oder Verlängerungsprogramm

Wir holen Sie im Hotel ab und bringen Sie zum internationalen Flughafen für Ihren Rückflug. Wir empfehlen Ihnen ein Verlängerungsprogramm und beraten Sie gerne bei der richtigen Wahl.

Heute inbegriffen:          Frühstück

Minimale Teilnehmerzahl:    4 Personen
Maximale Teilnehmerzahl:   8 Personen

Inbegriffene Leistungen Nicht inbegriffen
  • Transfers und Transporte in klimatisierten Bussen mit spanischsprachigem Fahrer.
  • Übernachtungen in den erwähnten Hotels in Zimmern mit Dusche/WC
  • Mahlzeiten laut Beschreibung inkl. 1 nichtalkoholisches, landestypisches Getränk, meist ein Fruchtsaft
  • Begleitung durch den deutschsprechenden Profifotografen und Reiseleiter Florian Kuster, Tag 2 bis 10
  • Deutschsprechender Flughafenreiseleiter bei Ankunft
  • Informative Reisedokumentation
    • Flug
    • Freiwillige Trinkgelder
    • Flughafentaxe bei der Ausreise USD 29.—pro Person
    • Optonale Aktivitäten
    • Persönliche Ausgaben
    • Persönliche Reiseversicherungen (Krankheit, Unfall)
    • Versicherung der Fotoausrüstung

Änderungen im Programmablauf bleiben vorbehalten

 

Daten auf Anfrage

 

Termine & Preise

Maximal 8 Teilnehmer pro Termin

Ausrüstung und Tipps:

Sollte jeder dabei haben:
-Digitale Spiegelreflex Kamera
-Ersatz-Akku plus Ladegerät
-Ausreichend Speicherkarten, besser zwei kleinere als eine sehr grosse
-Teleobjektiv ab 300mm, Zoom Objektive sind praktisch für mehrere
Anwendungszwecke. Telekonverter sind sehr hilfreich
-Stabiles Stativ, dass Kamera+Teleobjektiv gut tragen kann
-Ein Aufsteckblitz oder ausklappbarer Blitz

Optional, vergrössert den Spassfaktor (aber auch das Gepäckvolumen):
-Makro Objektiv
-Weitwinkel Objektiv
-Laptop
-Fernbedienung
-Fotofilter (Polaroid/Graufilter)

Für die Vorbereitung durch Florian Kuster werden die Teilnehmer gebeten, vor der Reise Marke, Kamera Modell und Teleobjektiv mitzuteilen. Falls weitere Objektive mitgeführt werden, bitte auch diese angeben. Auf freiwilliger Basis kann auch die Seriennummer beider Geräte übermittelt werden, damit bei Verwechslungen für Klarheit gesorgt werden kann.

Disziplinen die durchlaufen werden:
-Klassische Set-Ups am Bird-Feeder (Futterbrett)
-Entdeckungsreise auf Jungelpfaden, Hotelgärten und Wasserwegen
-Reptilien Set-Ups
-Kolibries im Flug und Sitzend
-Makros von Pflanzen und Tieren
-Land und Leute, Stillleben

Weitere Informationen und Buchung: sales@aratours.com, www.aratours.com
Telefon +506 2232 04 00