Safety

Costa Rica is a comparatively safe holiday destination. Costa Ricans are very open-minded, helpful and friendly people, making their guests feel at home right away. Nonetheless, it is important to be aware of possible safety risks. Considering some general precautionary measures, you can travel Costa Rica without problems:

Expensive jewellery should be left at home, and – just like anywhere in the world – openly displayed valuables can be a target of theft. Please use the hotel safe in your room or at the reception. Do not leave any valuables on display in your rented car and only park the car in guarded, official parking areas rather than leaving it next to the road. Avoid walking at night in the cities.

Armed robberies have sporadically occurred. Even though it is very rare, this risk cannot be completely excluded. Should you become the victim of such an assault, make no resistance and keep calm. Documents and material loss can be replaced.

Costa Rica is located on the so-called Pacific Ring of Fire and is thus exposed to natural risks like earthquakes and volcano eruptions. The country itself and the touristic infrastructure are well-prepared for such events. Due to the climate change there is also an increasing number of floods. Should any of this occur, please pay attention to the information provided by ARA Tours or the local population. Do not hesitate if evacuation is requested. This also applies in case of a tsunami alert.

Sicherheit

Costa Rica ist ein vergleichsweise sicheres Reiseland. Costa Ricaner sind sehr offene, hilfsbereite und fröhliche Menschen und man fühlt sich daher als Gast gut aufgehoben und in Sicherheit. Dennoch ist es wichtig, sich der möglichen Sicherheitsrisiken bewusst zu sein. Unter Berücksichtigung allgemein bekannter Vorsichtsmassnahmen können Sie sich in Costa Rica frei bewegen:

Teurer Schmuck sollte zuhause bleiben, und wie überall auf der Welt sind öffentlich zur Schau gestellte Wertsachen manchmal Ziel eines Diebstahls. Nutzen Sie den Hotelsafe im Zimmer oder an der Rezeption des Hotels. Lassen Sie keine Wertsachen sichtbar im Mietwagen liegen und parken Sie den Wagen stets auf bewachten, offiziellen Parkplätzen und nicht einfach am Strassenrand. In den Städten sollten nächtliche Spaziergänge vermieden werden.

Bewaffnete Raubüberfälle sind vereinzelt vorgekommen. Obwohl sehr selten, kann dieses Risiko nicht komplett ausgeschlossen werden. Sollten Sie Opfer eines solchen Übergriffes werden, leisten Sie keinen Widerstand und verhalten Sie sich ruhig. Dokumente und materieller Verlust können ersetzt werden.

Costa Rica liegt auf dem sogenannten pazifischen Feuergürtel und ist daher Naturrisiken wie Erdbeben und Vulkanausbrüchen ausgesetzt. Das Land und die touristische Infrastruktur sind gut auf solche Ereignisse vorbereitet. Mit dem Klimawandel nehmen auch Überschwemmungen zu. Beachten Sie in diesem Falle die Informationen von ARA Tours oder der lokalen Bevölkerung. Zögern Sie nicht, falls Sie zur Evakuation aufgefordert werden. Das gilt auch im Falle eines Tsunami-Alarmes.