Activities

Costa Rica has far too much to offer to just laze around. Here we show you some of the most interesting activities to try out during your trip to Costa Rica. There is something for every taste and physical condition.

Costa Rica – the ideal country for active adventurers!

Around 30 national parks, wildlife sanctuaries, and just as many private reservations are waiting to be actively discovered. As one of the foremost nature destinations in the world, Costa Rica offers a vast array of activities for every taste.  From a relaxed hike through a national park to soft-adventures and daring trekking tours through the rainforest, Costa Rica’s custom-tailored nature experiences cater to all fitness-levels and age groups.

Hiking & Trekking

Discovering the overwhelming natural beauty of Costa Rica on foot is one of the most popular activities for travelers. Most of the national parks and reservations are equipped with well-kept hiking trails. Proper hiking shoes and binoculars for discovering and watching animals are a must (What else you should not forget, click here). Experienced hikers can challenge themselves with more adventurous treks, such as climbing Costa Rica’s highest mountain, the Chirripó (3’819m), or crossing the Corcovado national park.

Adventure between the tree-tops

The American biologist Dr. Donald Perry was the first to discover and explore the biodiversity of the Costa Rican tree-tops. As part of a research project, he pulled himself up the trees using ropes, mounted platforms, and studied the fascinating animal and plant worlds he encountered. To make this unique phenomenon more accessible to others, he constructed the “Aerial Tram”, an eco-friendly, comfortable aerial railway through the roof of the jungle. An adventurous offshoot of the railway are the so called Canopy Tours, where one sails from platform to platform through the jungle on steel ropes with the best greetings from Tarzan. Those not afraid of the dizzying heights can climb over suspended rope bridges or spend the night on one of the platforms.

Mountain bike

Mountain biking is quickly becoming one of the most popular ways to discover the natural beauty of Costa Rica. The numerous trails and dirt roads are ideal for bikers. Day tours and entire round-trips are offered in many different regions. The biking tours  Irazú volcano/Orosi-valley and around the volcano Arenal are the most well-known.

By waterway

Hundreds of rivers, creeks, and canals rush and flow through the untouched nature of Costa Rica. Thus, it seems only right to enjoy the flora and fauna via raft, kayak, or canoe. The Rio Pacuare is one of the most beautiful rafting rivers in the entire world (Learn here more about the Pacuare Lodge). Silently gliding through the narrow canals of the Tortuguero national park (Learn here more about the Mawamba Lodge in the zone) is also an unforgettable adventure. Along the coast, yacht tours and deep-sea fishing tours can be booked.

On horseback

The Costa Ricans love horses and tours on horseback are consequently offered all over the country. Whether galloping along the deserted beach at sunset, grazing on the savannah-like pastures of the Guanacaste province, or prowling through hidden trails in the jungle – the horse-lovers heart will surely beat faster.

With wind and waves

Tamarindo, Jacó, Playa Hermosa or Puerto Viejo are only some of the most popular beaches for surfing. The waves are constant and rated as first-class by experts. Windsurfers will get their fix at the northern end of the Arenal lake or the northern end of the Nicoya peninsula in Guanacaste.

Aktivitäten

Costa Rica ist zum Faulenzen zu schade. Hier zeigen wir Ihnen einige der wichtigsten Aktivitäten auf, die Sie während einer Costa Rica-Reise erleben können. Es ist für jeden Geschmack und für jede körperliche Verfassung etwas dabei.

Costa Rica – das Ideale Land für aktive Entdecker!

Die rund 30 Nationalparks, Wildschutzgebiete und nochmals soviele private Reservate wollen aktiv entdeckt werden. Als Vorreiter der Naturdestinationen bietet Costa Rica eine riesige Auswahl von Aktivitäten für jeden Geschmack. Von der gemütlichen Wanderung im Nationalpark, über Softadventure bis hin zu abenteuerlichen Trekkingtouren durch den Regenwald bietet Costa Rica für alle Fitness- und Altersklassen das massgeschneiderte Naturerlebnis.

Wandern & Trekking

Die Naturschönheiten Costa Ricas zu Fuss entdecken gehört zu den beliebtesten Aktivitäten. Die meisten Nationalparks und Reservate verfügen über naturbelassene, aber dennoch recht gut gepflegte Wanderwege und Pfade. Wanderschuhe gehören unbedingt ins Gepäck (Eine Packempfehlung finden Sie ausserdem hier), ebenso ein Fernglas zum Erspähen von Tieren. Für Hartgesottene werden spannende Trekkings angeboten, zum Beispiel das Besteigen des höchsten Berges Costa Ricas, dem Chirripó (3’819m) oder die Durchquerung des Corcovado Nationalparkes.

 Erlebnis in den Baumkronen

Angefangen hat das Entdecken der Biodiversität in den Baumkronen ursprünglich mit den Forschungsarbeiten des US amerikanischen Biologen Dr. Donald Perry. Er zog sich an Seilen hoch zu den Baumkronen des Regenwaldes, richtete dort Plattformen ein und studierte die faszinierende Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Um diese Faszination einem weiteren Publikum zugänglich zu machen, errichtete er auf schonende Weise das „Aerial Tram“ eine bequeme Luftseilbahn durch das Dschungeldach. Eine abenteuerliche Ableitungen dieser Entdeckungsart sind sogenannte Canopy Touren, bei welchen man an Stahlseilen von Plattform zu Plattform im Dschungeldach saust. Tarzan lässt grüssen.

Für Schwindelfreie gibt es vielerorts Hängebrücken durch die Baumkronen und für besonders Abenteuerlustige werden Übernachtungen in luftiger Höhe auf Plattformen angeboten.

Mountainbike

Immer beliebter wird das Entdecken der Natur per Mountainbike. Die vielen Naturpfade und unbefestigten Strassen Costa Ricas eignen sich vorzüglich für Biker. Es werden ganze Rundreisen per Mountainbike, oder auch Tagestouren in verschiedenen Regionen angeboten. Besonders bekannt sind Touren beim Irazú Vulkan/Orosi-Tal und rund um den Vulkan Arenal.

Auf dem Wasserwege

Hunderte von Flüssen, Bächen und Kanälen rauschen und fliessen durch die vielerorts unberührte Natur. Da liegt es nahe, mit dem Rafting-Boot, dem Kayak oder in ruhigen Gewässern mit dem Kanu Flora und Fauna zu geniessen. Der Rio Pacuare (Lesen Sie hier mehr über die Pacuare Lodge in der Zone) zählt hier zu den weltweit schönsten Raftingflüssen der Welt. Mit dem Kanu lautlos durch die engen Kanäle des Tortuguero Nationalparkes (Mehr über die Mawamba Lodge in der Zone hier) zu gleiten, gehört zu den spannendsten Erlebnissen. An den Küsten werden Yachttouren und Hochseefischen angeboten.

Hoch zu Pferd

Die Costaricaner lieben Pferde und im ganzen Land werden Reittouren angeboten. Ob im Galopp am menschenleeren Strand dem Sonnenuntergang entgegen, wie ein Cowboy auf den savannenähnlichen Weiden der Provinz Guanacaste, oder auf Pfaden durch den Urwald pirschend – das Reiterherz schlägt bestimmt höher.

Mit Wind und Welle

Tamarindo, Jacó, Playa Hermosa oder Puerto Viejo sind nur einige der beliebten Strände zum Surfen. Die Wellen sind konstant und werden von Experten als Weltklasse eingeschätzt. Windsurfer kommen vor allem am nördlichen Ende des Arenalsees, oder ganz im Norden der Halbinsel Nicoya in Guanacaste auf ihre Rechnung.